Skip to main content
Question

Visibility issues for channels

  • September 8, 2026
  • 2 replies
  • 18 views

Forum|alt.badge.img+1

Hi Support Team,

Trying to investigate an issue of CHANNEL visibility when trying to apply content into a channel from the LIBRARY view when using ‘Add channel’ button. Currently when the “Select existing” view loads in it is showing all channels available under the ‘DEFAULT’ Location (very top level of hierarchy of locations. Channels are also set to this top level as well in their individual settings (for ‘Location’).

 

A user with the role AUTHOR at “All Locations” is able to view all channels instead of the sub-set provided within the User Profile Permissions. They are in a USER GROUP which provides this subset (it is not inherited by default) and those channels are listed as ‘Can Publish’ at the Top Level location. Those channels exist in Channel Groups which also have the user group added as Publishers. The channel groups are also at the Top level location.

 

From all accounts a User in permissions set x, should be only able to VIEW the channels and channel groups assigned to permission set x. However can view all channels available at the top level location, and ignore the rule set around publishing. IS THIS behaviour by design, or is there a way to restrict visibility on channels.

 

Regards,

Steven

 

 

 

 

 

2 replies

Forum|alt.badge.img+1

Figured it out. Channel groups are breaking visibility permissions.

When added to a CHANNEL GROUP it immediately gives that user permission to see everything in the LOCATION it relates to.


Dawn Wayland
Employee
Forum|alt.badge.img+8
  • Community Manager
  • September 8, 2026

@FedUni_s.kaiser sorry for the delay and glad you were able to troubleshoot through it.  

What you’re seeing is expected behavior based on how the Channels module works.

  • The Channels tab lists all Channel Groups and Channels that are available to the user, not only the ones they are allowed to publish to. 
  • An Author role gives access to the Library and content creation tools, but it does not automatically restrict the list of channels visible in the Channels view. 

So when a user clicks Add channel from the Library, the selector can still display channels that exist in the same location (for example the Default location), even if the user only has “Can Publish” permissions on a subset of them.

A couple of things to keep in mind:

  • Location scope matters. The channels shown depend on the Network/Location currently selected in the Admin Console
  • If permissions were recently changed, the user may need to sign out and back in for the updated permissions to fully apply. 

In short: the channel list can still appear fully visible, while publishing permissions control what the user is actually allowed to add content to, not necessarily what appears in the picker.